Ask Dr. Babooner

We all appreciate the work it takes to keep our basic services working. Fuel, Light, Water, Food, Public Transportation, and yes Plumbing. The next time you see a plumber on the road, at work, or in public just say “Thank You” and give them a smile.

Trail Baboon


Dear Dr. Babooner,

I have a steady, good paying job that’s as vital to the community as anything anybody else does, and it’s more important than most. I’m proud of my work and I don’t mind saying so. But snide comments from the neighbors, my friends and even some members of my own family are wearing me down. It feels like people just don’t understand what I do.

Even though we have a great history that’s directly connected to human progress, there hasn’t been a popular role model for my line of work since Art Carney was hanging out with Jackie Gleason.

Yes, I’m a sewer worker.

Sometimes I have to go into dank places where waste collects and congeals into a putrid sludge. Our high-tech equipment usually keeps us at a distance from the most unsavory elements of our work, although it helps to have a strong stomach…

View original post 366 more words

Leave a Reply

